Recent Thoughts

August 24, 2023

One of the weirdest parts of my job is staffing the chat function on my employer's website. People regularly start the conversation as if they're expecting a bot to respond. I'm trying to win a Turing test against a hypothetical robot in my head eight times a day.

August 10, 2023

My partner has started playing Baldur's Gate and they're fucking obsessed with it. They'll exitedly tell me things that sound like "oh my god the Yarks have been planting cyberworms in people's minds and my Yark npc Trishalyn just found out and is going to Worcheshire to confront them." Like, absolute greek to me, but it sounds cool.

She's also suuuper into D&D, so she loves the battle mechanics. D&D is too crunchy for me. I've been lusting after MorkBorg recently. The art looks soooo cool, and the writing is metal:

"The basilisks are two and two-headed. The four heads have argued for hundreds of years. Verhu predicts inexorable annihilation and, since he’s always right, has become utterly full of himself. His is also the head worshipped most. If you could learn the codes of the apocalypse perhaps the right offerings might avert it? Verhu loves his position and hungers for temples to be raised in his name."

July 14, 2023

Its been shockingly hot lately! My office is frigid and by the time i get home, the sun has cooled off, so the times when i feel the heat the most are half-hour lunch breaks. It makes me feel alive, that hot discomfort. I start to sweat and I remember, oh right, I have a body!

It's a solid third of the way through summer, so i think it's about time for me to make my Summer of 2023 Playlist. i try to make one every year. I put the most self-indulgent, trashiest pop that's good to listen to in the car on it. It's a blast to visit old playlists and remember what the past sounds like. Here's a sample.

2017:

2018:

Top candidates for this summer are Alphabet Aerobics, some shit by Eminem, and some Rick James.